Twitter role model – Best Buy’s Twelpforce

As part of my efforts to get Customer Service a larger role within my company’s Social Media initiatives, I’ve been researching how other companies have built and run their Social Media programs. My goal is to identify some best practices that can be incorporated into our fledgling Twitter outreach program.

Earlier this week, I spent some time researching Best Buy’s Twelpforce.

I liked what I saw because:

  • Their Social Media motto is realistic and concise: “Be smart. Be respectful. Be human.”
  • Their Social Media Policy is concise, clear, and hits all the right points.
  • Their Social Media Participation Guidelines are inclusive and open.
  • It is not a silo within one department
  • They have a mentorship program to help new Twelpforce members be successful
  • Twelpforce members seem to be very responsive, transparent, sincere and human

The other night, I tweeted that I loved the simplicity of Best Buy’s Social Media motto. Less than 10 minutes later, @Coral_BestBuy responded with a friendly tweet that included the link to their publicly available Social Media policy.

We exchanged a few more tweets and Coral was very gracious in answering my questions on what it was like to be a Twelpforce member and which tools they use. I was not a customer looking for assistance or information, yet they responded quickly and interacted with me in a very human and friendly way. It felt good that they not only noticed my little tweet; but they actually responded!

This interaction shows how powerful and positive Twitter can be in an organization’s efforts to strengthen bonds with their customers. I knew they were listening, Coral was sincerely helpful and she made a very positive impression with me. I felt good afterwards – and that is a very good thing!

As I continue to work within my own organization on growing our Social Media outreach efforts, I will definitely use Twelpforce as an example of how to do it the right way. As the saying goes, “Imitation is the greatest form of flattery”.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Twitter role model – Best Buy’s Twelpforce”

  1. Rick Spies Says:

    I’m glad that you are striving to make your organization’s customer service better. It’s obvious there is a gap between the service and support which customers want — and what people have grudgingly become accustomed to expecting and getting.

    As you said in your post, “It felt good that they not only noticed my little tweet; but they actually responded!” Imagine that, someone was actually there to help you AND did help you! What a concept! Even a pro like yourself is surprised when service is done right.

    • servicerox Says:

      Hi Rick – Thanks for stopping by & leaving a comment.

      What I am trying to do within my organization is add a Social Media component to our customer service model. We provide excellent customer service, BUT our customers have to come to us (call, email) to get help.

      I want us to listen for our customers’ conversations (blogs, Twitter, forums, etc) and reach out to them. So not only can they continue to come to us (traditional model of call, email) but we would also engage them where they are having their conversations (SoMe component).

      Best Buy’s Twelpforce is a good model for us to emulate to effectively use Twitter to help our customers. I’ll keep you posted our our progress! 🙂

Leave a Reply

